I made light of drug abuse in my last post, but this time I am going to be much more serious about it.
It is very unfortunate to see Santonio Holmes as the MVP of the super bowl when you consider that he was charged with drug possession in the first couple of weeks of the season. His team deactivated him for a game or two (I am not sure) as a punishment. Jeez, could they be any harsher?
I read an article that talked about how he grew up in a tough neighbor hood and had to deal when he was a kid and how he has overcome so much to make it to the super bowl, but I guess the only thing he had to overcome last October was finding the number of his old dealer so he could make a score.
He is a shining example of everything that is wrong with professional sports. A bunch of over paid, sub-par intelligent individuals who think they are invisible. I know I should not generalize because there are some outstanding men who have been involved with major sports who have made a huge impact on the lives of others, and they didn't do it so it could be filmed and shown during a game to let everyone knows that they really do care. But those type of players are few and far between.
Holmes should have been booted from the league. Almost every other job in America requires employees to refrain from using drugs and if they do break policies of that nature, they will not have a job after such indiscretions. But Pro-sports have always been the exception and will continue to be so until people start to stand up and call them on it.
I had Holmes on my fantasy team at the start of the season and the minute I read that he had been busted I dropped his a$$. The NFL should have done the same thing. Every sporting organization and each club needs to take charge of their "employees" and hold them accountable for their actions.
Well... I just had to say something. I am sure the two people who read my blog won't even care, but I am doing what I said early needs to be done. The fans need to take a stand and stop putting up with this kind stupidity.